The villanelle voices loss…

I stand alone on the midnight pasture

 I stand alone on the midnight pasture,    

 Chocking on dry tears that make me a mime;

Searching for the face that gives me rapture.

 

 The moon must give the heart it has captured.

  Where my love’s floating voice mingles and chimes.

 I stand alone on the midnight pasture.

Before my soul was in a deep fracture,

 My love’s open eyes gleamed silver as a dime,

 Searching for the face that gives me rapture.

 

The hand of Death is a poignant catcher.

 I am nowhere near the brink of our prime.

 I stand alone on the midnight pasture.

 

I stand waiting, dark and feeble in stature,

 Desperate to move past the ache of time,

 Searching for the face that gives me rapture.

 

 I will not love as once in your capture.

 My hollow heart will not be healed with rhyme.

 I stand lonely on the midnight pasture,

 Searching for the face that gives me rapture.

~ by poetofmidnight on August 31, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
